Ace Of Hearts by Chantal Fernando

June 13, 2018 Book Review 0 ★★★

Ace Of Hearts by Chantal Fernando three-stars
Ace Of Hearts by Chantal Fernando
Series: The Cursed Ravens MC #1
Published by Simon & Schuster Digital on June 11, 2018
Genres: Biker / MC
Buy on Amazon
Buy on B&N
Buy on Kobo
Buy on Google Play
Goodreads

The New York Times bestselling author of the “swoonworthy and addicting” (Kim Karr, New York Times bestselling author) Wind Dragons Motorcycle Club series is back with more bad boy bikers in this first novel in the Cursed Ravens Motorcycle Club series.

Erin Dawson had the perfect life growing up in a perfect home with a perfect family. Her parents gave her and her sister everything a child could want. But after learning that the man she’s called “dad” her whole life isn’t actually her biological father, Erin is determined to find the man who is.

Armed with her original birth certificate, she finds her father, but begins questioning if her mom had been right all along to keep this information buried. It turns out he is the president of a motorcycle club, which could not be further from the life Erin leads. But, she’s determined to get to know the man who she gets her striking blue eyes from. Despite getting what she wants and finding her biological father, it’s the slightly older, much rougher but incredibly sexy biker Ace that catches Erin’s eye.

As the new “princess” of the Cursed Ravens, Erin is learning a whole new world, but her father has made it clear she is off limits. Will Ace follow his President’s orders or will he put his heart ahead of his duty? A sizzling tale of family and passion, Ace of Hearts features Fernando’s signature “snark and sass” (Booklist) and is perfect for fans of Kristin Ashley.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.

I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book.


By SpiceThe hardest reviews to write are for books that are just okay. Like this one. For instance, I’ve started and stopped writing this three times…make that four. I knew I was taking a chance when I requested Ace of Hearts. Although Chantal Fernando’s Wind Dragons series had started out strong, by the end the series the books were hit and miss, well…mostly miss for me. I was hoping that a new series would be a fresh start but this one was just…okay.

I loved the idea of a woman who’s been raised in a very conservative lifestyle finding out that her father wasn’t her real Dad. Instead, her Dad is the President of a Motorcycle Club. This kind of fish out of water scenario should have been a slam dunk and it was interesting but I needed more emotions, more descriptions, and more depth. This felt flat to me.

Being mature is fucking hard work.

Part of my problem was that Erin was only twenty one and she acted it. Her immature reactions had me rolling my eyes more than once. She had a lot going on so on some level I understood, but she was all over the place. When I think of her aforementioned quote about being mature is hard work, I can’t help but observe that she needed to work even harder at it.

I liked Ace but everything we found out about him felt like just surface stuff. Other than falling into insta-love with Erin, there was no depth to him. He was alpha, hot, sweet and a bit gruff in a sexy way, but I don’t know what made him tick. I seriously wondered about his willingness to defy the order of Erin being off limits, but a twist at the end had me getting past that…somewhat. The whole scenario was kind of screwed up.

There was an abundance of interesting side characters that I do want to know more about. Erin’s father was a disaster, but I think in a well-meaning way, and some of the other brothers peaked my interest a little.

This would be a decent book to pick up if you are in desperate need of a biker fix and don’t mind a new adult feel to your reads. It does check off a lot of the biker book boxes like a hot sexy biker, a little action, and steamy hanky-panky, but for me at least, it wasn’t quite the stand out I wanted it to be.

Rating: 3 Decent Stars

 

three-stars

About Spice

Sugar and Spice and everything nice, but make her mad and she'll pull out her bad...

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.