The Night Mark by Tiffany Reisz

April 23, 2017 Book Review 0 ★★★★★

The Night Mark by Tiffany Reisz five-stars
The Night Mark by Tiffany Reisz
Published by MIRA on March 28th 2017
Genres: Historical
Pages: 432
Buy on Amazon
Buy on Barnes & Noble
Buy on Walmart/Kobo
Buy on Google Play
Goodreads

She has nothing to live for in the present, but finds there's something worth dying for in the past…
From Tiffany Reisz, the international bestselling storyteller behind The Bourbon Thief and The Original Sinners series, comes an enthralling new novel about a woman swept away by the tides who awakens to find herself in 1921, reunited with the husband she's been mourning for four years. Fans of Kate Morton and Diana Gabaldon will fall in love with the mystery, romance and beauty of an isolated South Carolina lighthouse, where a power greater than love works its magic.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.

A beautiful story, well told!

I thoroughly enjoyed this book, although it took me a while to embrace the story. Once I did though, I devoured it every spare moment I could muster!  

Life has taken a cruel twist for Faye. Her treasured marriage to Will was cut brutally short by an act of violence.  She never really got over him until she is recommended to undertake freelance photography work in a seaside town.   

The dead can’t love the living but the living can love the dead, and that was the greatest tragedy of her life. 

It is here that she first encounters people and situations that lead her to the local lighthouse.  She soon becomes fascinated with it and its associated stories. The treacherous waters surrounding the beacon lure her back in time where she meets a man who reminds her of her deceased husband. She is confused but unwilling to leave the comfort of being with a man who makes her feel and believe in contentment once more. 

There’s a lot more to Faye’s travels than a chance meeting with a familiar man from another time. I enjoyed the challenges she faced fitting in the past and the present. She finds the simple life is more than adequate to fulfill her heart and mind. Dealing with the inequities and the role of women in the 1920s was confronting. Little by little she reminds herself of what the future holds for the downtrodden.  

A photographer with a keen eye for detail proves an ally for her and the people she encounters. Using her knowledge of what could be, was no more evident than when she encouraged and supported the housekeeper who was both blind and deaf, forming a bond that assisted them both.  

“The cure for anything is salt water—sweat, tears, or the sea.” 

The essence of Faye’s contentment was the lure of the seaside and the people who were drawn to the lifestyle it presented. What she leaves behind is neither good nor bad. Her ability to live without her soul mate determined which path she needed to take. Selflessly she agonised over what was right and how her choices would impact upon others.   

Time Travel is an aspect that fascinates me within the romance genre. The Night Mark upheld that fascination through the depiction of people who were able to embrace and exist in a modern world just as enthusiastically as a long gone era.  

5 Illuminated Stars

 

five-stars

About Lily

An Angel with the devil inside… a Good Girl that can be bad or a Bad Girl trying to be good…who knows!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.